Be Me

Aaren Herron
1 min readApr 9, 2022

--

I am angry

I am a bat stuck in a cave, too blind to see the shadows

I am chained to a stone left to be devoured by vultures of life

I am missing my organs required for a productive life

I am too afraid to punch the vultures in their faces

I am petrified that these shadows might not be the worst of it

I am tumbling through a fabricated world; designed to protect the mind from the truth of its existence

I am a slave

I am a slave to the terrors of reality

I am a zombie shuffling through an orchestrated existence of bells and buzzers

I am watching as my fellow bats see the light

I am an angry courage fighting against a self-imposed prison

I am here

I am there

I am bringing the allegory to its grave

Otherwise, I am death.

--

--

Aaren Herron

Creative writer working to hone his craft, no longer at the expense of a mental state.