Free Write August Ninth

Aaren Herron
1 min readAug 10, 2022

--

The beat goes on, it’s a free write
Moment after moment of perpetuality
Am I good enough?
Can I play more than just the black key?

Like Magellan or Columbus before him,
was the idea of the white Keys too complicated to include?

A simplicity in quantity
More power to the flats
A rhythm present in all 72 corners

Though this insecurity flows through me like cocaine in the veins

Though this need for power rests in me like an ass on a casting couch

That post traumatic church within the mental cavities of life
Praises your faulty attempts at growth
Focusing itself on the useless attempts at birth

A new idea

A new life

A new potential at development
All shattered by that insufferable presence in your mind

Like the Hindenburg moments before it was set aflame, fleeing from a hostile onslaught of jets, believing they just survived the worst of it

There’s something before me that I’ve yet to see

Not a mirror, for this tragedy involves more than just me

Rather, an iceberg meant for more aquatic means

Reflecting back the glare of a million souls
Lost in their trust for me

A million ideas lost in their acceptance of what I’ll never be

Congratulations

We’ve all moved on to the clouds
Hopefully you’ll be able to join us soon

It’s cold and lonely without you here

--

--

Aaren Herron

Creative writer working to hone his craft, no longer at the expense of a mental state.