Lavender Neon Dragon

Aaren Herron
1 min readOct 26, 2022

--

It was a beautiful Saturday afternoon. Springtime, mid-May, the perfect time to spend the day outside with family and your pregnant wife. It’s time for a party of the grandest affair; a gender reveal party! Jason had his last month and he and Carol couldn’t be happier.

With the doctor’s results in hand, my mother ran to my garage to put together the package. It’s been about 5 months of this incredible pregnancy and I can’t imagine being any happier. My wife, she’s looking more and more radiant each day. Her beauty will grace our child more than any light from the Lord’s angels. We’ve been together 11 years, and nothing has brought me more joy than standing with her in the sun, waiting to find out the gender of our baby.

She always hoped for a Diametrically Opposed Set of Green Magnets to come shooting out of the box, but I’ve always hoped our little one was more of a Burgundy Wood Elf. I mean, could you imagine raising a BWE?! The elegance, the grace, the pure connection you’d feel. I highly doubt a kid like that would ever wish to emancipate themselves.

Needless to say, I do NOT want a dragon in this household.

--

--

Aaren Herron

Creative writer working to hone his craft, no longer at the expense of a mental state.